top of page

Streamdeck Elgato XL


Welcome back to another review.


The reviews I write about are only about things I myself am using and is thus based on personal experience.


The Streamdeck Elgato XL. Was it an expensive gift to myself? Yes. Did I really really need it? No. Months later, do I regret buying it. Most certainly not!


A macro pad

If we look at it with logical eyes, it is no more than a very expensive device that remembers your macros. You could program your own keyboard, add another keyboard that is programmed with macros or you could even use a free app on your phone. It would be a lot lighter on your wallet to be sure. So why did I eventually succumb to this, well designed, piece of equipment?

1. No messing about

I decided not to invest a lot of my time making things work on the cheap. The time I would need to invest and the clutter on my desk were just not worth it and I think I have done my time messing about in the past and quite frankly not eager to waste more time. This is a question you must ask yourself, just like I did, and make a decision.


2. Six, fifteen .... 32

Elgato already had a 6- and 15-button stream deck on the market at an affordable price but making the math you know 6 buttons will just not do at all. It would be filled in an instant and even the 15-button deck will have you going up and down the stackable layers until you go nuts.

Up and down? YEs, Elgato made certain 1 button can be a folder that holds an equal amount of buttons than the start screen (-1 for a return button). A 32-button stream deck will thus give you enormous flexibility and you can have it organised as such, that you do not waste any time looking for something.


3. Solid as a rock

This is definitely one of the reasons I decided on the XL instead of the 15-button deck. The stand is many times more solid than the plastic construction of the standard model, I would even say, the XL really stands like a brick house on your desk. Yes, it loses some of the previous flexibility but as someone who uses it more than just streaming, it being solid is very much appreciated. (if you are a bit clumsy it also comes in handy as you won't knock it aside or even tip it over.)


4. Not just a stream deck

What is important is that I did not buy the deck for streaming. I bought it to be used at the home game. At the table it has been of such tremendous help and really elevated the game for all with me holding the power over numerous sound effects. Besides that, I also programmed the deck to store the many many shortcuts for After Effects, Premiere, Photoshop and more. That is where the greatest use is actually made, in my day to day workflow. Though I do hope to finally be able to stream and use the deck for that as well. A fun little extra is that you can use your own designs on the buttons and these can also be animated. Glorious!


5. The cable

Something you might as well have overlooked but the cable is detachable, which was yet another thing why I went with this design. Nothing more horrible than having to do away with a device just because of the cable being broke. Problem solved!


Final word

Well, that as much sums it up I guess. the software that is included is easy to use and also very versatile. If you are thinking about it, don't hesitate. It is a great gift to yourself. Enjoy.


All my links are affiliated. Do not be afraid of these links as they have absolutely no influence on the prices you see on amazon or what you will have to pay. BUT amazon will be throwing me some nice silver coins for everything you buy and its a quick and easy way to support me keep this website up and make it more professional.


See you next time and feel free to ask you questions in the comments, I will 100% answer them all.


Summary of the official Features

  • Advanced live production: Easily control your favorite tools and platforms.​

  • 32 customizable keys: Instantly trigger unlimited actions with a tap.​

  • Powerful integrations: Elgato Game Capture, OBS, Streamlabs, Twitch, YouTube, Twitter, Mixer, Spotify, Philips Hue, Vmix, VoiceMod, and more.​

  • One-touch operation: Change, scenes, launch media, switch cameras, tweak lighting, adjust audio, post tweets – anything.​

  • Visual feedback: Know that your command has been executed.​

  • Easy setup: Drag and drop actions onto keys in the Stream Deck app and make them yours with custom icons.​

  • Optimum access and versatility: Non-slip magnetic stand and detachable USB-C to USB-A cable.​

  • Endless expansion: Download new integrations and develop your own thanks to Stream Deck SDK.​





bottom of page